Board of Directors

Durham’s Partnership for Children is a private, nonprofit organization governed by a Board of Directors. Our Board members serve as key advocates for young children and their families, and they represent business and civic groups, churches, local government, health and human service agencies, parents and education and nonprofit organizations.

They are all volunteers who contribute their expertise, professional resources and time to advance Durham’s vision for its children, encourage progress, and energize local change. By empowering staff, responding to community needs, and strategically managing resources, our Board of Directors is building a stronger future for Durham County.

The Board of Directors makes decisions regarding the allocation of public dollars, and all meetings are open to the public. Please click here for a meeting calendar. Please click here for minutes from past meetings.

To Participate in the August 27, 2020 Board Meeting at 3:00 pm click here.

Meeting ID: 860 2763 7360

Passcode: 377641

One tap mobile

+13017158592,,86027637360#,,,,,,0#,,377641# US (Germantown)

+13126266799,,86027637360#,,,,,,0#,,377641# US (Chicago)

Dial by your location

+1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)

+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)

+1 929 205 6099 US (New York)

+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)

Meeting ID: 860 2763 7360

Passcode: 377641

Find your local number:


Board of Directors

    • Michael Page- Durham County Board of Commissioners, Chair of Board
    • Jason Jones – City of Durham – Parks & Recreation, Vice Chair
    • Queron Smith – The Redwoods Group, Treasurer
    • Diamond Bethea – Durham County Library, Secretary
    • Cheryl Brown – Brown’s Early Learning School
    • Cathy Collie – Robinson – Durham Technical Community College
    • Elizabeth Erickson – Duke Children’s Primary Care
    • Josh Hawn – Ambata Property
    • Brenda Howerton – Durham County Commissioner
    • Deric Boston – CHTOP Head Start
    • Karen O’Mansky, JD – Self-Help
    • Collin McColskey-Leary – East Durham Children’s Initiative
    • Donna Rewalt – Durham County Cooperative Extension
    • Brittani Clark – Durham Public Schools Special Education
    • Monnie Griggs – CCSA
    • Rodney Jenkins – Durham Co., Department of Public Health
    • Nida Allam – Durham County Commissioner
    • Monica Colin – Consulate General of Mexico in Raleigh
    • Sierra Turner – EHS Policy Council Representative

If you are interested in joining our Board of Directors, please complete this application and contact Danielle Johnson, Executive Director, at

The Partnership also seeks professional input and guidance from community members through a variety of committees. These committees are comprised of volunteers and Board members who participate in making decisions and supporting early childhood initiatives. Please click here for a list of committees.

Please click here to view the staff directory.

Translate »